Life – Narrated by David Attenborough, NOT Oprah Winfrey

I’m home sick today, with a flu or horrible horrible cold, I’m not sure which.  But while laying on the couch I had heard about another BBC documentary series that I can not believe I hadn’t already seen.  It’s rare for me to come across one I haven’t watched a hundred times, but this one looks totally great.  It has the trademark amazing cinematography, and the classic David Attenborough naration and it’s separated into 10 episodes, which means I can skip the one where animals hunt each other, as I can’t handle seeing that when I’m well, let alone sick.  But on a day when I’m not feeling well, I can’t think of a better thing to throw on the computer while i lay on the couch and rest up.  If you like documentaries, animals, and educational television you should really check this out!  By the way, it comes in two versions,  The original (cover pictured below) narrated by David Attenborough, and the American Version (with a cover with Life written in reds and oranges, an undoubtedly better and prettier cover) narrated by Oprah Winfrey.  From what I have heard the Oprah version is terrible.  While the film is the same, she narrates it like a child’s bedtime story and says laughable things that seem to remove the educational documentaryness of the series like “heeeere comes the fox! UH OH!!” when there’s a fox chasing a baby ibex, and “hunting crab seals is toooo much work!” If you ask me, you should always look for the BBC version, because at least David Attenborough knows what he is talking about, and not just reading from a watered down script changed to layman’s terms. I’ve put some stills from the series below (courtesy of the Amazon listing for this series – Click here if you want to check it out), and I highly recommend watching these if you love animal shows and nature documentaries like I do.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage